Taumata Whakahaere

Taumata Whakahaere is our Project Governance Group and comprises of both Matauranga Maori & Science members.

Rahera Ohia

Ngāti Pūkenga

Rahera Ohia QSM is renowned for dedication to Māori business betterment. She initiated a revolutionary program of catchment restoration to provide long-term sustainable livelihoods for whanau, while improving receiving waters from restored land.  Queens Honour awarded for services to Māori business. Former Director of Arapai Limited; Director Ngāti Pūkenga Iwi Fish Holdings Limited; Ngāti Pūkenga advisor on Tauranga Moana strategy.

Rikirangi Gage

Te Whānau a Āpanui

Rikirangi Gage, is currently the Chief Executive Officer for Te Rūnanga o Te Whānau a Āpanui. He has a wealth of experience in the marine environment. Rikirangi has served as a member of the Ministerial Advisory Committee for Oceans Policy and was a prominent spokesperson during the allocation discussions. He served as a board member for Te Papa for three years and represented the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission at the Convention on Biological Diversity in Argentina in 1996. Ministerial Advisory Committee for Oceans Policy; Board member for Te Papa and represented the Treaty of Waitangi Fisheries Commission at the Convention on Biological Diversity in Argentina in 1996.

Professor Chris Battershill

University of Waikato

Chris Battershill is Professor of Coastal Science at the University of Waikato. He has an outstanding record in translating science into practice, with >25 years of research on reef dynamics/chemical ecology and managing impacts (e.g., Rena Oil Spill). He led the NZ component of INTERCOAST/ Germany and has done decadal monitoring of NZ’s marine reserves and in Antarctica. He works closely with BoP and Taranaki iwi and Regional Councils and is well-respected in Māori and stakeholder liaison. He is co-lead of the science programme.

Professor David Schiel

University of Canterbury

David Schiel is Distinguished Professor of Marine Science at Canterbury University. He brings >30 years’ experience in nearshore marine ecology, fisheries and aquaculture. He has been PI on Marsden, MBIE, MPI, DOC and industry grants, co-authored the definitive textbook on kelp forest biology and ecology (Schiel and Foster 2015- U California Press), led the Dynamic Seas section of Sustainable Seas, and with Battershill, was NZ Science Communicator of the Year in 2016. He led the Kaikoura coastal recovery ecological programme following the devastating earthquake in 2016, and works with industry and government agencies in disturbance recovery and management. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of NZ, and of the Marine Biological Association UK. He co-leads the programme and leads field ecology.

Jack Thatcher, CNZM

Ngai-te-Rangi, Ngati Ranginui, Ngati Porou and Te Aitanga a Hauiti 

Jack Thatcher is Chairman of Te Puna I Rangiriri Trust (TPIRT), which he co-founded. Through TPIRT, he and other staff have taught hundreds of children and young people about waka and other traditional Māori knowledge through programmes in schools, polytechnics and wānanga. He has run events and classes based on traditional Māori activities. He established a traditional navigation school where students can gain NZQA qualifications. He leads educational tours of Mount Maunganui and the Mauao historic reserve during Matariki. Mr Thatcher navigated the Mātaatua Waka for the 150-year commemorations of the signing of Te Tiriti o Waitangi, captained the Waka Odyssey voyage for the 2018 New Zealand Festival of the Arts, was flotilla kaitiaki for Tuia 250 commemorations, and was chief navigator for Sir Heke Busby’s Waka Tapu project.

Rebecca Boyce

Project Manager

Ngāti Pūkenga, Ngai-te-Rangi, Te Rarawa

Rebecca brings more than a decades experience working in Māori Trusts and entities providing administrative and operational support. She has demonstrated expertise in relationship, project management, and operational administration.